Corporate Body - Mundo Obrero (periódico, España)

Mundo Obrero (periódico, España)



Corporate Body

Preferred form:

Mundo Obrero (periódico, España)

Fechas de Existencia:

from 1930 to 1988


Given its experience with the headlines "El Comunista" and "La Antorcha", the Communist Party of Spain decided to secretly publish a press organ. Thus, its very first newspaper was issued in the times of the military dictatorship, on the 23rd August, 1930. Upon the establishment of the Second Republic, the newspaper was suspended on several ocassions. Its publishing office was relocated to Valencia and then to Barcelona in 1937. Defeated the Republic, "Mundo Obrero" carried out its publishing labour in secrecy and was distributed even in prisons. It was based in Paris (France) and chaired by Federico Melchor (1915-1985). After the Transition and the legalization of the PCE during Easter of 1977, "Mundo Obrero" regained free circulation across Spain. It was a daily newspaper between 1978 and 1980, but the high expenses of daily issuance led to its temporary closure. In 1981, it reemerged as a weekly newspaper chaired by José María González Jerez (1916-1999) until 1988.

Dictadura de Primo de Rivera, 1923-1930

Date of the event: 1923 - 1930




CHECA GODOY, Antonio. "Prensa y Partidos Políticos durante la II República". Salamanca, Ediciones Universidad de Salamanca, 1989

Related Authorities

Bullejos, José (1899-1975)  ( It is founded by )

Associative relations :

Castro Delgado, Enrique (1907-1965)  ( Tiene como empleado a_en )

Cimorra, Clemente (1900-1957)  ( Tiene como empleado a_en )

Cimorra, Eusebio (1908-2007)

Ibárruri, Dolores (1895-1989)  ( Tiene como empleado a_en )

Izcaray, Jesús (1908-1980)  ( Tiene como empleado a_en; Redactor Jefe. )

Izquierdo, Manuel (1913-1992)  ( Tiene como empleado a_en; Redactor y último director de Mundo Obrero durante la Guerra Civil. )

López Salinas, Armando (1925-2017)  ( Tiene como empleado a_en; Subdirector )

Melchor Fernández, Federico (1915-1985)  ( Tiene como empleado a_en )

Mendezona Roldán, Ramón (1913-2001)  ( Tiene como empleado a_en )

Muñoz Arconada, César (1898-1964)  ( Tiene como empleado a_en )

Partido Comunista de España  ( Órgano de expresión )

Sandoval Moris, José (1913-2012)  ( Tiene como empleado a_en )